New York State Boating Safety Classes
Boater Education, Certification and U.S. Coast Guard Licensing
NYS Boater Safety Courses throughout New York State

Frequently Asked Questions

Is my Boating Certification good/valid in other states? YES. The Certification courses listed are 8-hours in length, have a proctored exam and are taught using materials approved by NASBLA- National Association of State Boating Law Administrators. Some states do require that residents of the state apply for an in-state Boating License or Certificate if you reside in that state, but if you are visiting from your home state you should be fine. It's always best to check with the state you are visiting to be certain and be sure to carry your certification card.

I lost my boating certification card, how do I get a replacement?
If you completed one of our NYS courses you should contact the following;

In New York, you must request a replacement certificate by filling out this form: and mail to the address listed on the form. Be sure to enclose your check when mailing. Call (518) 474-0445 with any addditional questions.

Temporary certificates cannot be replaced.

In Connecticut, Visit HERE for the online form. (860) 434-8638.

In New Jersey, Visit HERE for Instructions. (609) 882-2000.

If you have completed a course with another organization such as the Auiliary or Power Squadron you should contact your Instructor since they may have offered you a different course.

What if I fail the test? Less than half of one percent (less than 1 out of every 400) students don't fair well on the exam. We cover so much more during the 8-hour course than is required to pass the test. But, if you fail the multiple choice exam our retest policy is simple. Go home, study the book you've been given at class and come back to be retested at any regularly scheduled class. There's no charge for retesting and you do not need to retake the course (unless you want to), just retake the test after you've had some time to study. The initial test and the retest are usually the same multiple choice exam. Sometimes class locations become full to capacity so please contact us at (516) 216-4410 to arrange a retest.

How long does it take to get my permanent certification/license from the state? Upon successful completion of our New York and New Jersey classes you are issued a temporary certification. Once the forms are mailed to the state it takes approximately 45-90 days for the state to issue your permanent card. In Connecticut, we issued a State-approved diploma which you present to the CT DEP for the immediate issuance of your permanent card. In New York and New Jersey, please allow up to 90 days to receive your card and direct all inquiries to the state. Your temporary certification is issued by us on behalf of the State and is equally as valid as your permanent card. Keep in mind that thousands of boater certification cards are issued throughout the state each year. We, nor you, are able to get information from the state regarding when your card will be issued. It will be issued as soon as possible and in the order it was received.

Home Page | Find a Class and Private Classes | PWC, Boat and Youth Operating Laws | NYS Boating Regulations | Links and Resources | Knot Tying | Our Instructors | Frequently Asked Questions

Contact us at: or call (516) 216-4410

To view our policies and website privacy statement click here

Long Island Nassau Suffolk Nassau County Suffolk County Westchester

Y Boating Course New York Safe Boater Cclass Boating Safety Classes, New York State Safe Boating Class, Coast Guard Boating Classes, Jetski License, PWC License, PWC Education, New York Safe Boating Course, USCG Auxiliary classes, Boating Education Nassau County, Suffolk County, Long Island Boating Classes, Youth Boating Classes, Mandatory Boating Safety Education, Boating Instruction, Certification, Boating Safety Courses. New York State Boating License Jetski License